I think I may have reversed my Type 2 diabetes !!!!!!

johnlfitz

I have some recent personal experience of what I think is a dramatic change or reversal in average & fasting blood glucose levels over the past 7 weeks (since I was diagnosed as Type 2 diabetic 7 weeks ago). I have achieved this, I believe, due to self initiated rapid weight loss. I hope you find it of interest.

As I mentioned above, I myself was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes just 7 weeks ago. I’m male, aged 37, 5ft 8 inch tall. At the time of diagnoses, I weighed 18 stone 5lbs. I desperately wanted to tackle / reduce the onset of diabetes myself via diet and exercise, and so I rejected my GP’s suggestion of starting Metformin. Admittedly, I “overdid” it diet-wise / exercise-wise over the last 7 weeks …… I went on a very restricted low carb low fat diet (self initiated) and hit my home electric treadmill 2 or 3 times a day. I have lost 2 stone 3lbs in the last 6 weeks to now weigh 16 stone 2lbs. I felt ill during this time (hence my “I overdid it” comment) and felt really weak, light headed, ill and woozy, but my blood glucose readings have come down from 11-15 mmol/L postprandial, to typically 6-7.5 mmol/L postprandial after my weight loss.

In the last 2 weeks my fasting overnight readings (first thing in the morning when waking up) are now at 4.5 – 5.2 mmol/L. My GP has noted that my liver ALT levels are 122 at the moment (and AST of 56) …. however I’ve no real way of knowing what these figures were prior to my diabetes diagnoses.