I'm having a tough time with myself

Lucie75

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I only joined this website yesterday so excuse me while I jump right in but I need some support and/or advice.

I have had type 1 since childhood, can't remember life without it, and it was all going swimmingly until I had children. When my eldest son was 2.5 yrs old I fell into a hypoglycaemic coma while at home alone with him. My husband works night shifts so I'm at home alone with our children every night of the week. I just need to talk about it and this seems as good a place as any. I've been beating myself up about it since it happened 2 years ago and it's still very raw inside. I often still cry about it when no-one's around so please bear with me.

I lay unconscious on the floor for about 5 hours. I'm only guessing at this from what I can remember before I lost consciousness. My poor son was just 2.5 yrs old, back door open (as it was summer), front door not locked (as I was there). Any number of things could've happened to him. Luckily nothing did happen, except he couldn't wake his mum up. What did he do for 5 hours alone? I know you can't answer this but these are the sort of questions going round in my head. I can't remember much about it but I can recall hearing him trying to wake me, shouting at me. At that age he did know that lucozade was needed when I went 'a bit funny' so he got me some but couldn't open it. This is what makes me cry (as I am now). I can imagine him getting upset because he couldn't open the bottle. He must've hit me with the bottle out of anger because I did have bruising a few days after. I was found by my parents, laid on the floor with my son sat next to me patting me. I can also recall hearing them come in and my mum saying 'Oh God, help me get her up', to my dad.