In need of a nudge in the right direction!

Nomi

Hi guys,

I was diagnosed at type 1 nearly 2 years ago. At first my control was really good HbA1c around 6 and most of the time sugar levels between 6-8 ish. However since I got over the honeymoon period everything has gone crazy. Its rare to get my sugar levels in the single figures even when i do take what i think is the right amount of insulin, from carb counting. I've tried to adjust things but nothing really seems to make much difference. I just feel so lost.

My diet has just got worse and worse with me now buying penny sweets on a daily basis. (I know its bad but I don't know what to eat). Before I was diagnosed I was a sugar lover. I ate chocolate and drank full fat coke all day long. I have switched to diet coke now or cola zero but am still prone to buying chocolate, and i really don't like dark chocolate!

I'm a uni student and am not very organised. I think the main problem I have is not knowing what i can eat. When i'm hungry i do reach for the chocolate, and so have now stopped keeping any at home. But at uni there are vending machines everywhere! I tried eating fruit instead but find it doesn't fill me up, so any suggestions as to what i can snack on safely would be great.

I think i've suddenly become a bit overwhelmed by everything and really just want to stick my head n the sand and hide. I know that doing so is a bad thing, so I want to take the bull by its horns and get this fixed.
I want to start exercising properly too, i did use to be quite active, but now any thought of ctivity that might be in the least bit strenuous makes alarm bells ring, with thoughts like, what about my sugar levels. I want to banish these thoughts and enjoy myself again!

I'm not just diabetic, i'm 22 and have arthritis in my knees, which rules out running at the gym:(; and i have psoriasis which is doing my head in at the moment! I know i just need to get on top of it but i just don't know where to start!