Increased Hba1c Reading For Type 2 After Shock Of Death Of Husband

libbyM

i had to have a reading done here in France this morning and have just received my results this afternoon.
The numbers are different in France but have been 6.3 for a long time but today 6.6. Is it normal for
numbers to rise after such a terrible shock?

Boo1979

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
i had to have a reading done here in France this morning and have just received my results this afternoon.
The numbers are different in France but have been 6.3 for a long time but today 6.6. Is it normal for
Bereavement is a massive stressor and stress of all kinds will raise blood sugars so will also be likely to affect hba1c as this is an average of BG.

BarbaraDavies

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I'm very new to this testing etc.. but from what others have said, stress and shock do effect numbers and I think what you're going through must have an effect. I think that is a very small rise and in the great scheme of things, not worth worrying over, looking after you is whats important now. With condolences and best wishes.

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
sorry forgot to tick box to be notified of replies. Would Admin adjust ps
At the top right or middle it says "watch thread". Just click it.
I'm sorry to hear about your husband, must be very hard for you.
And I have two answers: 1. This is not a very big rise, could even be due to a different lab. 2. Yes, it's quite normal to see changes in emotions back in changes in bg and thus hba1c.

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
At the top right or middle it says "watch thread". Just click it.

So sorry to hear about your husband @libbyM I hope you have plenty of support around you. As others have said stress can push up your readings.