injections

evelyntemple

Hi I am new to this so please be patient with me I am having problems with My nightime Injection I am on levemir and take 58 units but I find I have trouble pressing the pen down which is painfull and I always get redness and a lump no matter how I try to do it, the novorapid I take in the day isn't a problem as I do that in my stomach its just the one at night in my thighs has anyone got any tips please : thanks regards Mary

Stuboy

Dislikes
Crowds. Being high. Being Hypo.
Hi,

As you're injecting a large dose... how fast are you inject it?

Becasue it's quiet a big dose in one injection... i would first try injecting it more slowly.

Secondly... do you know what size needle you are using on the pen? If it's too short and the dose is large, the insulin can "pool" under the skin, which causes a lump which does eventually disperse but can be painful/uncomfortable... so you might consider trying a longer needle if you're using a 6mm or an 8mm... try a 12?

suzi

Dislikes
people who are rude and ignorant, and people who have no patience in queues.
Hi Mary,
i agree with Stu, my son is on levemir flexipen and found to begin with it took considerable force to press, didn't seem as smooth as other flexipens. Recently i collected his levemir from the chemist to find they have changed the design and it is still dark blue but with a thick green band around it and it delivers the insulin much more smoothly. If you are using disposable flexipens ask your chemist when there getting a new batch in and ask for the new flexipen when you take in your next script, hopefully that's solve your problem.
Hope this helps
Suzi x

Eliminator

Dislikes
People who talk ***** and tell lies.