Insulin ratios

Sheppie84

Hi all,

I have recently started insulin and have been told I can try carb counting. I'm gonna start in a 1:10 ratio but had some questions.
Should the ratio vary throughout the day?
If I eat a meal of 17 carbs do I round up or down?

Thanks.
Sarah
:)

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

mrman

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Re: Insulin ratios

I always used to round up on mdi, but be careful with lower carb meals as I used to find my ratios would change depending on carb amounts per meal.
Did and do have different ratios for breakfast/lunch/tea. Just to complicate things totally different lower ratios for snacks between meals due to the fact of insulin stacking.

mo1905

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Rude people !

Sheppie84 said:
Does a ratio of 1:10 sound right? I'm just starting out so will listen to any advice.
Sarah :)

That's probably about average and is the ratio taught on DAFNE courses. Test regularly and please ensure you let your health care team know. Depending on other factors, stress, exercise, work etc, be prepared to possibly make adjustments.

mrman

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump

1~10 is a good starting point usually recommended by dsns. Test, record and adjust from there. If going to low change ratios to 1~12, if going to high change to 1~8 etc. does help to be 100% certain of carb amounts, and test record for every meal to see if ratios do fluctuate at different times of day.

Sheppie84

Thanks, I'll start tomorrow and give it a few days, I'm still in honeymoon so my levels are a little unpredictable.

Should I inject for snacks also or just keep snacks under 10g carbs?

mrman

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump

If eating a small snack in between meals generally so not inject if 10~15 carbs, doing so would probably result in a hypo.

mrman

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump