Insulin Timing of Lantus and NovoRapid

Janr20

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Needlephobia giving insulin
Hi I'm type 2 using insulin twice a day. NovoRapid is timed for evening meal followed by Lantus daily at 2130.

I'm new to insulin still coming to terms with it, requiring it, giving it and what happens if I stuff up. Plus combined with short term memory loss and needle phobia.

Quite often when I'm overseas they like to have late lunches and late evening dinners (tea). Means it's a domino effect with NovoRapid and Lantus very close together. Last lot of hypos no specific warning signs.

Similar scenario is also starting to happen at home . I'm keen to avoid any hypos. Always believe prevention is better than the cure.

Is there anything I can do to minimise possible hypo because of it? Any suggestions for a plan A and a plan B ? Blood sugars are taken before each type of insulins

@Mep @leslie10152 @ickihun @azure

Mep

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi I'm type 2 using insulin twice a day. NovoRapid is timed for evening meal followed by Lantus daily at 2130.

I'm new to insulin still coming to terms with it, requiring it, giving it and what happens if I stuff up. Plus combined with short term memory loss and needle phobia.

Quite often when I'm overseas they like to have late lunches and late evening dinners (tea). Means it's a domino effect with NovoRapid and Lantus very close together. Last lot of hypos no specific warning signs.

Similar scenario is also starting to happen at home . I'm keen to avoid any hypos. Always believe prevention is better than the cure.

Is there anything I can do to minimise possible hypo because of it? Any suggestions for a plan A and a plan B ? Blood sugars are taken before each type of insulins