Is it safe to sauna?

Dave...

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi All.
I was diagnosed T1 about 6 months ago. I've got my head around it and have pretty good control, but then the odd issue crops up. I was at the gym and it was the first time in a long while that I have had time to take a Sauna after a swim - as I went to open the door I checked the notice (which I think I've never done before) and it read that people with diabetes should not use - not differentiating between T1 and T2, so I was unsure if this is an insulin/heat (potential hypo) issue? My DN recommended 10mins (max), should the opportunity arise again... but I just wandered if others used them and if there are any other issues to watch out for?
Apologies if this is a ridiculous or simple question to answer. Any advice would be appreciated.

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
I've used saunas with no issues in the past, but I rarely last longer than ten minutes anyway. I've not seen them any more likely to cause a hypo, although I suppose if you were in it for 30-60 mins, there is the possibility. The directions on the door are an insurance cover for the centre you were using rather than anything else.

Reactions: 4 people

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm another sauna user. (Swedish, Indian.)
Insulin sensitivity can be heightened with the heat. Just keep a close eye on BS levels & enjoy!

fairylights

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I use every week for around 15 minutes, haven't had any issues.

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Insulin sensitivity can be heightened with the heat.

Apparently the heat of the sauna's increases blood flow to the skin area which accelerates the rate in which insulin is absorbed, probably why they have a ban or a precautionary warning on sauna's.

Reactions: 2 people