Is their a certain diet or a better word lifestyle ? Keto lhfc?

sarahm723

Type of diabetes
Type 1
What is Keto diet or lfhc or something I read on here ? Not sure if that’s right letters .. do most type 1s do these ? Are they safe or which one is for type 1 .. thankyou .. 27 have 3 Stone to lose.. but need to reduce levels very slowly as Iv problematic eyes and just had vitrectomy . Thanks

Reactions: Freema

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Eating fewer carbs can mean that a type 2 diabetic requires no medication to maintain normal readings. Levels of carbs 30 to 50 gm per day are fairly common amongst forum members.
For a type one it seems to be much more of a balancing act, from what I have read on the forum - I have no experience of using insulin.
Eating fewer carbs is one way to lose weight, many have found, but for a type one that presumably means injecting less insulin.
I imagine if you need to purchase insulins it could mean a big saving

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
What is Keto diet or lfhc or something I read on here ? Not sure if that’s right letters .. do most type 1s do these ? Are they safe or which one is for type 1 .. thankyou .. 27 have 3 Stone to lose.. but need to reduce levels very slowly as Iv problematic eyes and just had vitrectomy . Thanks

Hi Sarah - There are T1s who follow those ways if eating, and do well on them, but they're not for everyone, and for T1s who can cover, within reason, whatever they eat, with insulin, many prefer to stay on a "normal" diet. I use the "" on normal only because normal is a very personal thing.

Clearly you have been told not to make rapid, stark changes, bearing in mind you have some pre-existing issues with your eyes. If your vitrectomy is recent, have you mentioned your intentions to your Doc or DSN?