Lone working and reasonable adjustments

Dislikes
SPIDERS (cringe)
Hi all!
I would just like to pick someone's brain over a certain matter. I work in the betting industry for a small semi-independant bookmaker. Last wednesday I received an e-mail stating that because trading was down they will be implimenting new rota structures and shift patterns. A day later another e-mail comes through with a rota for week commencing 7th October, surprise! I'm lone working (I'm used to having another member of staff through the day) Now this is where I'm a bit lost..Area management came to see me on Friday. Told them of my Diabetes and that I take medication which lowers my BG, so am at risk of hypos. I told them I was extremely uncomfortable with lone working of a night (the area I work in has a few nutters) and put it to them what would happen if I had a hypo whilst on my own with a shop full of customers....their reply? "we'll buddy you up with another shop so if you feel unwell you can call them"?????? :shock: How is another shop that is 30 miles away gonna help treat a hypo? So I then put it to them that if I had a hypo would I be allowed to close the shop whilst I treat my hypo? that was met with a stony silence. :roll: I know of the Equality Act and know that my employers have to act upon it. My manager suggested that I work mornings and only do 1 night a week and I am happy with that yet upper management seem to be skirting round the issue. I am going to suggest this new shift pattern with my area manager today. What should I do if they fail to make reasonable adjustments? I'm not with a union. I'm hoping they will know the law and be able to sort it in house. i just want to know where I stand in regards to the law and the Equality act so I can go armed IF needs be, because I think I might have a battle on my hands. Sorry if this post seem a bit all over the place, my brain is all over the place at the mo and to top it all the stress has my BG's going up and I'm now under