Kerr1992

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Diabetes...
Hi folks,

I'm due to start on my insulin pump on the 6th of October.

I realise I now need to pay more attention to my ratios and my background insulin etc. Over the last year or so I've just been guessing and not had much control. I know my background isn't right as when I go to bed, I wake up in the morning with increase BG. sometimes after breakfast when I test during the day my BG is higher than it should be. I was always 1:1 before so was pretty lucky.

I was looking to see how you guys keep track of your BG levels and how use work out your ratios. I know with background I should increase it by 1 every couple of nights until its close to what it was before bed.

I've downloaded the BG Diary from this site so will try that. it's quite big to carry around though so will have to enter my data into it at night.

I need to work all this stuff out for my pump so might as well start now :)

Craig Kerr

Ladybirdy75

Hi Craig,

I'm really no expert here and i know others will be a lot more knowledgable.

I'm on a pump, have been for 4years. You really will find basal testing and setting carb ratio's so much easier on a pump.