1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2022 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Meter reading's way out!

Discussion in 'Diabetes Discussions' started by Ellie_Wilko, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. Ellie_Wilko

    Ellie_Wilko Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    So since being diagnosed with type 1 diabetes 2 years ago, I've been using the GlucoMen LX plus meter.

    I've just started carb counting properly and have been given an Accu-Check Aviva Expert and am shocked at the difference in readings I'm getting from both monitors.

    Yesterday for example, I felt like I was having a hypo, tested my blood on my GlucoMen machine and got a reading of 4. I didn't think this was correct so immediately did a test on my Accu-Check and got a reading of 2.3.

    I keep one monitor at work (my GlucoMen) and have my accu-check at home but am not not sure I should rely on my GlucoMen anymore?! I have felt lower then it's said I am on a few occasions which is obviously potentially dangerous.

    Has anyone else had this issue with their monitors?


    Sent from my iPhone using DCUK Forum mobile app
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. 1abRat

    1abRat Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Meters are quite often different to one another. They're allowed a variability of 15%.

    I know that my Accu Chek mobile will consistently read 1mmol higher than the blood tester built into the Libre and the One touch Verio's we use at work are usually somewhere in-between.

    My best advice is to call Accu Chek and ask them for an extra meter for work so that they are consistent.

    You should be able to get some control solution for your meters to check that they are roughly accurate. I day roughly because the control solution usually says it's OK if it's between, for example, 3 and 5 mmol!

    Always trust your own feelings and eat when feeling hypo if you're not confident in the meter reading. Try and test with freshly washed hands.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. ickihun

    ickihun Type 2 · Master

    Messages:
    13,697
    Likes Received:
    18,514
    Trophy Points:
    298
    @Ellie_Wilko I have found that.
    My accu-chek mobile is great. In keeping with my hypos too.
    I called Verio as their iq was reading a lot higher and was reading me safe to drive even though I was having a hypo. I asked if they wanted their meter back!
    Accu-chek have been consistent with their readings and customer service too. I've been with accu-chek 13-14yrs.
     
  4. Ellie_Wilko

    Ellie_Wilko Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'm just waiting on a prescription for some more strips for my accu-check and am then going to just rely on that one.

    It certainly makes you wonder how accurate it's been since I first got it and whether my readings have always been out!


    Sent from my iPhone using DCUK Forum mobile app
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. ickihun

    ickihun Type 2 · Master

    Messages:
    13,697
    Likes Received:
    18,514
    Trophy Points:
    298
  6. conure

    conure Type 2 · Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    I heard and read that when on Metformin it is not necessary to check BG, I felt unwell getting worse by the day, eventually in hosp with very severe Pneumonia, I could have done something about it earlier, but didn't realise how serious it was, when at hosp they check my blood Glucose and it had gone thru the floor. my kidneys shut down, very low BP, and a raging temperature.
    If I had been testing I would have reading was dangeriously low and gone to my GP where it all would have been picked up. now it is going to take at least another 8 weeks to completely recover (only can home 2 days ago), I now will be testing whenever I feel off colour.
     
  7. bobh18

    bobh18 Type 2 · Newbie

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Aye NICE in their quest to save money have said that T2 that are takin oral medication should NOT be given test strips. I was taken off them by my GP as he was instructed to do so. After about 18 months my DN check my BG and it was 16.7mmols, she went ape and insisted I went back to testing 4 times a week. Now because I've been testing I know the tablets alone aren't doing the job, so have been given lyxumia as well.

    My sons in the same boat he's taking Jardiance (empagliflozin) he has no idea of his BG is until I let him use one of my spare meters. Last time he tested he was 11.9mmols, not bad but he would have had no idea without testing.

    Clinical Excellence my arse...
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Insulinman

    Insulinman Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    HI
    I got rid of that make of meter a long time ago 10 -- 15 years. I complained about the Difference between 2 Meters
    I was told ("ole NO you MUST only USE one (1) Meter") "ON 8 Jabs a day" Don't think so! But even Now
    USB, and High Tech Strips they are still to far apart when and "IF" they READ????
    My strips Yell more Blood More Blood or JAM & NOT read?
    Insulinman still on a pump
     
    #8 Insulinman, Jun 9, 2016 at 7:35 PM
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2016
  9. jimsboss

    jimsboss · Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    23
    I would also check the expiry date on your test strips. If they're out of date you'll get a false reading.
     
  10. Insulinman

    Insulinman Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Hi
    I use more than 150 strips each Month, they don't get much time to get out of Date!
    About 40years ago I had on loan from my Hospital in East London, a Loan Blood test
    Meter 300mm X 300mm X 50mm, Or in English 12" x 12" x 2" & Staff Nurse Pam in her
    starched apron gave me two Tubs of strips EVERY week they were Bayer Then and still are Now!
    I worked out with a Calc Note Book & Pen a few years ago I had done 80.000 Blood tests with well
    over 100,000 finger pricks? "AND" yes Around 100,000 Jabs, I now stick a Pump Needle & hose
    in me "BUT" I still have to test like a lot of us do 5 to 8 times a day, But thanks for the Advice.

    Insulinman still on a pump
     
    #10 Insulinman, Jun 9, 2016 at 9:25 PM
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2016
  11. Tng1971

    Tng1971 Type 2 · Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    43
    My doctor only prescribes 50strips which are then supposed to last 2 months! My pharmacy have also tried to give me out of date strips......
     
  12. KevinPotts

    KevinPotts Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,606
    Likes Received:
    4,309
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Mine did the same when I was first diagnosed. I quickly realised this was silly, went in with the maths and asked for 1 script for 200 to cover a little more than a month. He listened said "fine" and proceeded to write the prescription.

    Happy days...

    ...well at least until I started doing very well getting my BG under consistent control at which time he told me I no longer needed prescriptions. Makes you wonder should I have just taken the tablets he first offered and smiled nicely:)


    Sent from my iPad using DCUK Forum mobile app
     
  13. Insulinman

    Insulinman Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    HI It does depend on how good or bad a diabetic you are? I have been under a Hospital Consultant for 40 years
    So who knows Better than a HOSPITAL!!! It ONLY took 32 of them to get "ME" a Pump.
    Its all about that good old thing Money,
    But with Insulin & NO Test Strips its a one way trip to a place called A/E You Must have Strips for INSULIN and sugar????????
    Insuliman still on a pump
     
    • Like Like x 2
    #13 Insulinman, Jun 10, 2016 at 6:33 PM
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2016
  • Meet the Community

    Find support, connect with others, ask questions and share your experiences with people with diabetes, their carers and family.

    Did you know: 7 out of 10 people improve their understanding of diabetes within 6 months of being a Diabetes Forum member. Get the Diabetes Forum App and stay connected on iOS and Android

    Grab the app!
  • Tweet with us

  • Like us on Facebook