Metformin

witsum

Hi
I am a newbie to this forum and would like some advice. I was diagnosed with Pre-Diabetes (IGT) last October and my GP advised that I should just continue with my already healthy eating and active lifestyle and my blood sugar levels would be monitored regularly with a further GTT in October-he stated that I did not need any medical intervention until such time as I was diagnosed with full blown diabetes, which hopefully I will be able to resisit for a good while yet.
However, I saw an endocrinologist the other day about unexplained weight gain/query Under Active Thyroid and the first thing he said is that he will be writing to my GP to tell him to put me on Metformin but I don't yet have diabetes so don't understand why he wants me on Metformin.
Hope you can clarify this for me.
Many thanks

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
Hi Witsum and welcome to the forum.Did the endocrinologist do any blood tests? Did he say anything about blood sugars?

witsum

Hi Sue
Thanks for your prompt response
I have got to have a batch of blood tests for the problems I saw the endo for, but he hasn't included blood sugar levels, and to be honest, he never even asked what my levels were after the GTT!
I do test my levels intermittently with a home kit and the readings 2 hours after food are averaging 6.1-6.5 so don't think they are excessive.
I am reluctant to start taking tablets for a condition which I don't actually have yet!

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
You don't have PCOS do you?( Poly cystic ovary disease)Sometimes metformin is used to help with this.

witsum

Sue
No, my age precludes PCOS-I'm 56!
The endo is considering the possibility of Cushings Syndrome-a disorder of the adrenal/pituitary glands.