Miaomiao 1 vs 2

RSJ1301

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi

I’ve been using the MM1 for a few years now and getting and Apple Watch has vastly improved its usefulness to me. Previously I used a Garmin FR645 but the link now seems to have broken and I can’t get it to work.

I was about to charge up my sensor today and discovered that the charger cable had melted around one of the pins... a bit of an eye opener and I’m not using that cable again! I think it may have been shorted at some point.

It looks like Miaomiao don’t supply Type 1 cables (or stickers either, for that matter) to the UK but I have found a 4 pin cable on eBay that will do the job - I’ll just tape over the middle two pins. But if this didn’t work I wondered if I would be as well upgrading to a MM2.

Has anyone had any experience of a MM1 vs a MM2? Thinner profile sounds good (I am forever knocking my transmitter against doorframes, etc) but what about battery life and Bluetooth range?

And if I stay with the MM1, what do people stick them on with if they have no original adhesive stickers?

Reactions: SueO246

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I was enticed by the lower profile on MM2 and have been using it for just over a year.
As a transmitter it has been great and converting my Libre to a CXGM has been wonderful.

But, MM2's lower profile comes at a cost - battery life. It never lasted 14 days which meant that I had to charge it before my Libre had expired. Now, it lasts 3 days.
If I had my life again, I would buy a MM1.

However, I have not replaced my MM2. I am waiting for Libre 2 which with the patched LibreLink app shoudl be able to do away with the transmitter all together.
Libre 2 is now on my prescription but after a couple of failed Libre 1 sensors, I have a couple of replacement sensors to use before I trial Libre 2 and then new transmitter free world.