My Diabetic Cat is Low-Carbing With Good Results!

MelanieL

My Beautiful tabby boy, Beeswax was recently diagnosed with diabetes (I suspect he came out in sympathy with me!). The vet nurse thought I was bonkers when I asked if he should low carb, but the vet immediately agreed, and it meant that he is doing well on a tiny dose of insulin twice a day - apparently it is well known that diabetic cats have a better prognosis if they switch to a low-carb diet - amazing that there is more enlightenment in the veterinary community than in human medicine. Of course, the crime is that I've been feeding my cats carb-laden food for ten years, when they have no use for them at all. In fact, just as in humans, it's the food manufacturers who are stuffing their bank accounts at the expense of our animals' good health.

All five cats are now living happily without ingesting bought 'cat food', and the absence of carbs appears not to bother them at all.

Fingers crossed that as Beeswax looses weight, he will need even less insulin and will live a long and happy life.

the_anticarb

Dislikes
Spiders, winter, bills, ignorance, prejudice
Hurrah for Beeswax! Funny though that your vet advocates low carb for the cat, but human doctors won't do this for humans :D

kegstore

Dislikes
Unnecessary rudeness, and any PC
Excellent news about your cat. They're terribly resilient creatures, my aunty had one that was diagnosed diabetic aged 6, and lived to the grand old age of 18 on daily injections and whatever food was presented. No diet changes at all. Amazing.

kegstore

Dislikes
the_anticarb said:
Sounds just like the standards NHS advice then! :lol:
Well the cat lived in the US, and was perfectly happy until hit by a car. :(

But I must admit to not even knowing what the NHS standard advice is? I suspect I know what you're angling at but I've never encountered it myself. I think it probably depends where you live, like so many other things health-related...

Spiral