My dog has been diagnosed with diabetes today

Issabellasmum

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi everyone I'm completely new to diabetes looking for some guidance and help with this, my 11yr old border collie Issabella has been diagnosed with diabetes and today we gave her the first insulin injection .
Our main concern after her well being is the cost of this illness and it's treatment . At the present time it's costing £60 approx per two weeks for syringes and insulin ,never mind vets fees blood tests etc any advice on how we could save on the cost would be greatly appreciated .
Many thanks
Issabellasmum

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Do you have pet insurance, most policies will cover you for conditions like diabetes.

jack412

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
see the chemist to buy it over the counter, it has to be cheaper than a vet, or is it restricted?
does the UK have a junkie needle exchange program? you should be able to get free needles

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
That's a shame, my brothers dog broke it's leg and the vet bill was £4800, as he had insurance they paid for the treatment.

I'm not too sure how you could reduce the costs, have you thought about asking the vet if they can help reduce the costs considering your dog will need insulin for life, failing that the PDSA might be able to help or advise you.

Meant to say, I'm sorry about your dogs diagnoses.

Issabellasmum

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi jack412 no we cannot get free needles but I have found that I can purchase them cheaper on line , as she needs 2 injections daily it's going to be quite costly . I don't believe I can purchase the insulin from a chemist in the UK , it's quite annoying that if I was a junkie I would get free syringes !

Issabellasmum

Type of diabetes