My LCHF and Newcastle Lifestyle success story so far...

charlie000

To begin LCHF is NOT a diet but a life style for me

The text below details my story I do not recommend this to anyone officially as I am not a medical expert so please ask your health experts.

This is just chit chat not advice.

—- here we go —

Was admitted in to hospital in the last week of Feb with Atrial Fib. A senior Dr examined my bloods and told me my HBA1C was at 105. She said “I am in the early stages of Diabates” and recommends my GP to get me started on Diabetes Meds.

No dietary advice except to eat healthy?

After 4 days in hospital my sugars remain high. Maybe it’s because of the white bread baguettes, Cheerios and biscuits we were being fed and laying in bed all day.

On the last day I had Salad + chicken. They said no more food was available and that this all that was left. I had this, and sneaked off the ward for a walk. The hospital I was in is massive and we all know it, it serves our war veterans. I came back after a 40 min walk. Nobody realises I had went! Nurse comes round gives me my medication and does my BG. Guess what? It’s at 5.4?!?!?!?

She was impressed but confused and asked if I had eaten. I was full! Goes and gets me some biscuits and tea. I have the tea and one biscuit just to be polite. Rest stay on the table, and are taken away by the staff in the morning...

My morning glucose is at 6.5, instead of 10.

All the other days my BG before bed has been 11mmol - 15mmol!

Nobody visited me in hospital. And I think the nurse showed a lot of compassion and care to me for this reason. Everyone else on the ward had visitors daily. Fresh juices, fruit, chocolate and biscuits, flowers you name it.

All I had was a box of hospital tissues, plastic water jug, plastic glass, my inhaler, hospital wipes and a chicken white bread sandwich.