new diagnosed, sad but thanks goodness for this place

VashtiB

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi everyone,

Diagnosed almost 2 weeks ago. Got the usual advice from my doctor about just eating a healthy diet and 1/4 plate carbohydrates. I had already found this forum (when the surgery rang me to make an urgent appointment so I was worried as the only test was for blood sugar). I had already had an idea that the advice from the doctor wasn't correct so I felt really upset as I thought I couldn't give up carbs and my husband believed the doctor and thought I was being a tad over dramatic. I was also told that I didn't have to test but I had already decided I needed to test otherwise I had no information. Well we tried a healthy meal and my bloods went right up- that was the last so called healthy meal I have had.

I have cried and sobbed. I'm a lawyer and usually on the other side of the desk from the crying. I have stuck to the low carb high fat and my readings are in the '5's which is okay for less than 2 weeks in.

My problem is I don't like meat- I have never eaten so much meal :( . I am not a big drinker but when I do drink it is cocktails. I'm a sugar addict and really struggling. I could be happy never eating meat again. Not sure about never eating carbs again.

Anyway that's probably enough for this post. I'm sad and overwhelmed but without this forum I would be lost and things would be so much worse- thanks all for making what is (for me) a **** situation into one that I have been able to just about cope with.

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi Vashti and welcome!
If you haven’t come across it already, here is a link to our useful info:
https://www.diabetes.co.uk/forum/threads/basic-information-for-newly-diagnosed-diabetics.17088/
Like carol I do enjoy meat but have a look here for low carb veggie ideas: