New to this

Pink

Hi all, my name is Priyanka nickname pink and I'm new to chatting with other diabetics about the conditon and am so pleased that I've found a forum lke this!

I was diagnosed when I was 5 and now am 24, I would say that the last couple of years have probably the most challenging regarding my diabetes. I've never really until now had a problem with control and diet but then I went to University and obviously my life style changed.

Coming out of university I began to feel that my diabetes had taken over, I no longer had control, I've put on alot of weight and my hypo sensations have decreased quite scaringly. Needless to say I felt uneducated about my condition, out of touch with doctors and the nhs's changes in the way that diabetic patients were managed and so because of all that am starting from scratch. Now while I was at uni I heard about dafne, so I wanted to get on to a programme but to my local consultants insistance I am going to be started a cause this wednesday called the DIP course which is meant to be the same thing. (Carbohydrate counting)

I was hoping for some advice about the course and any recommended literature. I also wanted to find out if anybody could recommend an exercise and diet plan for myself to lose weight. I've noticed how people have spoken about a very low carb diet but for me until I complete this course I cnt even imagine eating fewer carbs as I was always taught throughout peadiatrics to eat carbs with every meal.

Also are there any other type 1s my age who are feeling lost, I just feel that so much has changed to the way diabetes is cared for now and just feel out of the loop, I also feel that its taken over my life as I'm no where close to where I want to be in evey aspect of my life because this is holding me back.