Newbie saying hi with a question

wannabe5

Hi everyone!

Just thought I'd introduce myself and get some info with regards to my situ.

Got diagnosed with type2, two years ago with a fasting sugar level of 9.6, which was shall we say a bit of a shock. Been going down the diet route and thought I was doing ok until recently. Hadn't taken BS for quite a while and was horrified to discover that my fasting BS was 15.9 :eek:
To say that I exercise would be an understement!

I'm a 48 year old male.

Gym 4 days a week (Cardio and weight training Lasting at least 2 hours).
Squash 2 days a week (I'm a squash coach). 1 hr and a half.
Also walk the dog in the morning for at least 45mins

So don't think it's the exercise! lol!

As for diet!

For the past 5 days I've really cut back on my food intake to try to stablise my BS. Porridge in the mornings,soup in the afternoon with one slice of wholegrain, with a chicken in the evening. Cut out caffine, bread and potatoes and am drinking 3ltr water a day, but my fasting BS is 12.6.

Any advice on getting my Bs down, would be great. Is the system always this sluggish?

cugila

Master
Dislikes
People who are touchy.......feign indignation at the slightest thing. Hypocrites, bullies and cowards.
Looking at your diet there is a lot of carbohydrate in it. Diabetes is an inability to process glucose properly. Carbohydrate converts, in the body, to glucose. So it makes sense to reduce the amount of carbohydrate that you eat.

The way to find out how different foods affect you is to do regular testing and keep a food diary for a couple of weeks. If you test just before eating then two hours after eating you will see the effect of certain foods on your blood glucose levels.