Newly diagnosed LADA

SarahRuth

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi,

My name is Sarah, I'm 29 and was diagnosed as LADA 6 weeks ago. I am currently taking one Metformin with my evening meal and that is it for now. I have had a few hypos which my consultant thinks is my body once again becoming sensitive to its own insulin. My brother is type 1 and has been since childhood so I have some basic knowledge of T1 diabetes however I do feel a little out of my depth. I was initially diagnosed as I went to my local pharmacy having recognised T1 symptoms, when tested my BG levels were 26.9!! However they are now within the range of 4-8 pre meal with diet control and one Metformin in an evening. My diabetic nurse has told me that my GADS were strongly positive and this makes me LADA how ever she herself doesn't seem all that clued up on LADA. I haven't even seen my consultant yet as all conversations are happening via my diabetic nurse. I see my consultant next week and I am wondering what kind of questions I should be asking?
I do want to stay off insulin as long as possible, is there a way to do this?
Also I am losing rapid amounts of weight,
I am slightly overweight (loose size 14) but I am losing between 1-2lb a week, my diet has changed but I'm still eating a fair amount. Is this normal?! Any help or advice would be so welcome. Thanks in advance. Sarah xx

Ian DP

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Chips
Hi Sarah,