Soplewis12

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Grumpy People
Hi All,
I have been using omnipod dash pump & libre 2 sensor for 15 months now & my honest opinion is that it is such more difficult than insulin pens. I don't know whether it is because I have been told that I am insulin sensitive or not & with just using fast acting insulin 24/7 this makes a difference.I have found that my day to day insulin regime is much more difficult to control & I'm getting really fed up. It just seems to go from bad to worse, once spotting a need for alteration (Every few days,) I change & then it impact on something else.
I'm reluctant to go back to pens incase closed loop system with omnipod 5 makes a difference but I am really interested to hear of other people's experiences from pens to pumps. Thanks

Reactions: megan

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
What about taking a pump holiday for a short while?
You can still use the Libre when on pens.

h884

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi Soplewis12

I have been using the Omnipod Dash since Feb 2021. I have had to make a lot of changes since going onto the pump although not as many as yourself. My basal rate has doubled. My experience of pens is limited. The changes I had to make were mainly due to me being on a variety of other medications such as steroids.

Sorry to hear about the challenges you are facing. Could your Pump team be of support to you ?

Antje77 suggestion of perhaps taking a break from the pump might the way to go

Hope you find a solution that works for you

Reactions: Antje77

Soplewis12

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Grumpy People
Thanks antje77 & h884 going to have a long, hard think about this.

Reactions: Antje77

Chas C

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump