Protein meal

Akash

Im still new to this whole thing, im type 1. I was just wondering wether you take insulin if you have just a protein dinner and without any carbs? If not, would someone be able to explain why? Thanks a lot.

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Alasdair

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Akash said:
Im still new to this whole thing, im type 1. I was just wondering wether you take insulin if you have just a protein dinner and without any carbs? If not, would someone be able to explain why? Thanks a lot.

Did your Dr not explain anything like this for you?

Only take your short acting insulin (bolus - novorapid etc) to counteract any carbs you take. It's the carbs and the associated sugar that raise your bg levels. Your long acting insulin (basal - levemir or lantus) you will take regardless of carbs.

There are others on here far more educated than I am on this sort of matter but so far I haven't taken any notice of protein when considering how much insulin to take.

Fearghal

Insulin is still required to cover protein, although protein doesn't spike blood sugar to the same extent..you'll find you maybe need less to cover low carb high protein meals..

Thundercat

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I must be doing something wrong that is playing out right. I never allow for protein when calculating so I must be miscalculating for carbs as results are lovely. I'm confused. Will leave things as they are for now as ot seems to be working. There is always something new to learn isn't there. Sigh

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Akash said:

I believe protein in the absence of carbohydrates converts to glucose by around 60%, it is broken down over a longer period so it may not hit effect your bg for 3-5 hours after eating, so yes insulin is needed in most cases although there will be some who may get away without insulin.