Question regarding the best ingredients to use.

Durthic

Type of diabetes
Parent
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Hi everyone!

As the subject suggests, I need your help with some food related questions.

My father has recently been diagnosed with T2 diabetes, and after looking through foods that he can and can't have, I decided to see if there was anything that I can do to help him out.

I am a butcher by trade, and as such, I want to see if there's a way that I can put my trade skills to use in order to help him continue to enjoy some of the foods that he has enjoyed prior to being diagnosed.

From what I have read up on diabetes and safe foods (and it is an information overload for me, so I doff my cap to each and every one of you!), I have decided to start out by trying to formulate a sausage recipe that has the best possible taste, yet made using only natural, safe ingredients with the lowest possible glycemic index, and also with attributes that best lend themselves to keeping a handle on everything diabetes related.

Now, we tend to live on a low sodium diet anyway, so I'll be trying to keep salt down to a minimum, as well as fat content. the thing I have been struggling with is what to replace the rusk with. Since rusk is not the best thing for diabetes, I was considering things like oatmeal (from what I've read it's high in protein, and has a very low GI, and also helps to stabilise blood sugar levels.), or even pea protein. I've managed to establish that whole grain breads are good for diabetes, so there is that, although talking with yourselves will help me get confirmation on that.

From there, I'll be planning things outside of sausages, things like burgers (which we don't eat often at all, but thought a diabetes friendly burger would be good for an occasional reward for doing well with diet, etc.), meatballs, and so on, but I thought it best to start small and build from there.