retinopathy

starlight1

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Dislikes
people who have no manners
hi there, i have been diagnosed with haveing retinopathy. I would like to hear from anyone else who has had the same diagnosis . I have background retinopathy at the moment and i am wondering how long it takes for the next stage of retinopathy to strike and what treatment you have had. I have only been diagnosed with type 2 for a year and im still learning how to fight the symptoms, my blood sugars are still quite high at 14 and i am on 3x500 mg of metformin and 40 mg of gliclazide, 80 mg of atorvostatin at present. any advice would be appreciated. thank you x

Tracey69

HI
I am a type1 diabetic and have been for36yrs. Retinopathy is to do with the blood vessels at the back of the eye. It can look like raspberries when they dilate your eye, these can be treated with laser.
I have retinopathy in both eyes, both eyes are lasered all round. I have a continual bleed in my left eye with Macular edema, Which is where the Macular swells and your sight becomes blurry. All my problems are with the left eye, I am awaiting to go into hospital to have the Vitreous Jelly removed to try and stop the bleeds holding in the jelly, as all i can see is blood which keeps squirting.
The best thing i can say is try and keep your sugars at a reasonable level, if you can walk for twenty minutes aday i find that brings my sugar levels down and try to watch your carbohydrates you are eating.
It sounds scary but it is treatable. Just hope i haven't put you off.
Please look after yourself.
Tracey

iHs

Starlight1

Background retinopathy needn't progress to needing laser treatment if you can gently lower your bg to better levels. I have had background r now twice - once when I was going to pubs and clubs a lot in my late 20's and also in 2007. With tighter control of bg, the background r cleared and my eye scans are all ok.