Reversing Type 2 Diabetes

PatRobertson

Hello everyone out there who is trying to reverse their disease.

Let me introduce myself. I am a University Educated Nurse, who, having lived with Diabetes in my household, had a special interest in Type 2 Diabetes.

I was diagnosed in May of 1985, so I have had it for almost 31 years.

As my mother and brother had Type 2 Diabetes I had been trying to prevent it by trying to keep my weight down. I was successful in doing this with 2 different diets. The first was a 3 day per week "fast" along the lines of Dr. Michael Mosely's 5:2. The second was a 1200 calorie diet of the time, one that was suggested to diabetics in the '50's and '60's and early '70's.
Both worked temporarily but it was not easy, not something I could do for a long time. Slowly, my weight crept on. During that time dieticians and nutritionists were not available any longer to "hold your hand" to help you with your weight issues. During that time the high carbohydrate diet was devised. I was diagnosed and went to Diabetes Education, where I was re-educated about the dangers of fat for the diabetics, and how carbohydrates and even sugars were not so bad as I had always understood them to be. I took it to heart, and continued on the path of a mildly diabetic to a severely diabetic gaining more weight with each new pharmacological treatment as time went on. Despondency set in and it was difficult to exercise.

In January of this year (2005), after much mulling about why was this not working, (despite all the new stuff - carb counting, 5 insulin injections daily, the plate method and encouragement of more exercise, my blood sugars were high as was my A1C), I decided to ditch the plate method in favour of the old tried and true diet of old. I had read Dr. Mosely's book after seeing the BBC documentary and added fasting as I had tried it in the '60's and it had worked then.
I began to lose a modest amount of weight.