Rise in blood sugars after waking

Glynis1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Cats, loud music and yoghurt
Hi, I am a veteran type 1 of 48 years. However I have recently started to try and low carb as I need to lose some weight. On waking my blood sugars are well within normal range - 4.8 - 6.5. I miss out breakfast but take my long acting Levemir (taken as 2 shots am and pm). I am finding that from rising from bed that my blood sugar is rising to 8 or 9 even though I am not taking any carbohydrate. I have tried the bullet proof coffee (no carbs) but it doesn't make any difference. I am now having to take 25 to 50% of my short acting (Novorapid) to try and stop the spike. Anyone got any ideas how to stop blood sugar rising when low/no carbing ?

himtoo

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
mean people , gardening , dishonest people , and war.
why can't everyone get on........
Hi Glynis1
your body is "waking up" and so to combat this rise any protein like a chunk of cheese or slice of cooked meat should assist in slowing the rise down.
the levemir is too slow to counteract this early morning rise.

I find this happens to me as well so you're not alone.:)

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
I find this too, if I don't inject and eat upon waking I get a liver dump which can send my bg levels into double digits.

DunePlodder

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Same for me. My bg will rise 2 to 3 units in the first hour.
It's counter intuitive but eating something (& injecting for it) helps.

Glynis1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Cats, loud music and yoghurt