Self destruct button

I realise it’s probably been done to death on here, but as a newbie here goes …
Just wondered how others deal with a personal self destruct button.
I know all the right things to do/not do. I feel guilty when I know I’m not being a “good diabetic”.
I know the implications of poor control.
Yet there are (sometimes extended) periods of time when I just cannot bring myself to do the right thing.
Medical experts great at talking the mechanics of diabetes, awful at dealing with the mental side of the condition.

zand

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I try to make a tiny step towards doing the right things and then I feel a little more positive and can praise myself on that one step rather than beating myself up about everything else. It's hard when you don't really know why you can't do the right things some of the time, yet at other times it's fairly easy to stay on track. It's also overwhelming to face it all sometimes.

I try not to dwell on the implications of poor control, but look towards the implications of good control. But, yes it's hard to keep your head above water when you just don't feel like it.
Talking here is a great help for me though so...welcome to the forum :)

lucylocket61

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I know all the right things to do/not do. I feel guilty when I know I’m not being a “good diabetic”.
Yet there are (sometimes extended) periods of time when I just cannot bring myself to do the right thing.
Medical experts great at talking the mechanics of diabetes, awful at dealing with the mental side of the condition.
what type of diabetes do you have?

I take it one step at a time when self care feels too hard. I have a minimum list of what I consider to be an achievement - often its simply getting dressed, and brushing my hair. Be gentle with yourself. How long have you been diagnosed? Maybe have a list of three things which are the minimum you consider to be important.