Shiftwork

brendandpp

My emoloyer has decided that all staff will be going unto shifts,I have been working on day shift for the past 23 years,the company nurse has said that as I am on insulin she would recommend that I do not work shifts,however my manager has stated either work shifts or take redundacy, can he force me to work these shifts.

jopar

Under the DDA your employers have to make reasonable adjustments to accomandate your medical condition..

What shifts pattern are they saying you have to do?

If the shifts are just day shifts then really you haven't got an excuse to play the can't do card, as even insulin diabetics can adjust/work around days shifts (I used to do verious shifts ranging from 7am-10pm)

Night shifts are a different ball game, and yes for insulin users very difficult (not impossible) now here 'Reasonable' will be very dependant on the size of your company more than anything, if it's a large company then it would be reasonable expectation that they can keep you on day shifts if the impact of being a staff member down is able to be adsorbed!

But if it's a small company where staffing level's are small, and each member of staff has there own job within the shift, the impact of being a member down would seriously impact on that shift, then letting you off nights could be considered unreasonable!

If it is found to be unreasonable, then the firm should if possible offer you a position in another department where you medical condition can be better accomandated.. If this isn't available then they are in their right to terminate your contract due to medical reasons!

bowell

Dislikes
Tablets, Mums with pushchair who push in ,Bus and WC
Ask to see HR
Also your Union Rep
letter from your GP or DSN would help also asking for OP Health Assessment

Ask HR for OP Health Assessment
Ask for H&S Risk Assessment do they have one in place now ?
go and see CAB

You have rights your hours or pay can not be changed with out agreement from both sides