Shivering

DunePlodder

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I spent Christmas with relatives but stayed in a local hotel.
I'd done reasonably well BG wise but around 2:00 am Friday morning woke with a BG of 2.5!
I was very shaky & sweaty but took a couple of glucose tablets & ate some biscuits and drifted back to sleep.
Some time later I woke up to find myself curled up in a ball under the duvet, shivering uncontrollably.
I felt very weak & cold & just didn't want to move. This went on for about 10 minutes or so, hard to judge, then I must have drifted off.
I woke again feeling weak but did a blood test - 7.8. It wasn't particularly cold.
The next morning I was tired but otherwise fine.

The shivering has happened before, three times in perhaps 8 years. I'd never had the hypo before or perhaps I'd slept through one.
On both previous occasions I tested a short while afterwards & was 5 or 6ish.
I've been doing this diabetes thing for nearly 20 years (Type 1) but I can't work it out.
Has anyone experienced this? Rather unnerving especially as I live alone.
Regards,
Robert

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
It does sound like your bg continued to drop even after you treated the hypo, had you been drinking the night before Robert as this may explain what happened?

DunePlodder

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
It does sound like your bg continued to drop even after you treated the hypo, had you been drinking the night before Robert as this may explain what happened?

I had a glass of wine at lunch time but I was driving, so nothing after that.

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people