FurryCub

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Football
Hi

I thought I'd been doing pretty well as my last hba1c was 41. But I had a work trip recently where I had a big apartment and my mother asked if she coukd come along. Apparently I was going to the toilet a lot, drinking a lot and tired a lot. I think ive just got used to it, not sure what my bg was as I lost my meter few weeks ago, but often after a small dinner id be in the low teens.
Anyway my mother freaked out and phoned diabetes UK who said I shouldnt be like that and maybe I wasnt getting enough medication to deal with spikes. I play rugby and im studying for a degree, they said that would spike me too.
Im on metformin SR 1000mg per day and on my last nurse visit we were talking about me coming off it as my hba1c was fine.
So not really sure what to do, id like to have my energy back but id like to come off the pills if possible. Also not sure why im getting spikes but the hba1c is normal.

Any ideas whats best?

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
A few questions. Have you now got a new meter and using it? Are you overweight or have a normal BMI; also how old are you? Metformin will have no effect on sugar spikes and is mainly of use if you are overweight. If you have a normal HBa1C I wouldn't worry too much. If you are not overweight then it's possible you are a late onset T1 (LADA) not T2 (you haven't said what your diagnosis was). If you are a LADA then, sadly, you may progress and the next typically prescribed drug might be Gliclazide to stimulate the pancreas as you may be lacking a bit in insulin. Let us have more info.

FurryCub

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Football