Skiing or Snowboarding

zach692

Hi all

My name is Zach Williams I am a product design student from Bournemouth university, I am gathering research about people with diabetes skiing and keeping their insulin pens and cartridges safe while skiing or snowboarding, I was looking to speak to people who have had problems keeping their insulin safe or have pain from injecting the insulin because it is cold.

If people could contact me about their personal experiences while skiing this would be greatly appreciative.

Please leave some replies!! :thumbup:

Zach

hale710

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I ski but haven't done since diagnosed diabetic this year so I haven't experienced any issues yet

There's bound to be someone along who has!

phoenix

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
My skiing is in the Pyrenees and Massif Central which are probably don't get as cold as some parts of the Alps and N America.
I use a pump worn on the waistband of my salopettes with jacket etc over it. I haven't experienced any problems with insulin becoming too cold. When I used pens then I'd keep my rapid insulin pen in my small daysack with some insulation ie small amount of bubble wrap and a scarf.
The bigger problem can be the glucose meter, its fine if its kept in an inner pocket but then its fiddly to get out and not easy to get out strips and insert strips, hold onto gloves etc. ( probably would be easier with the all in one accuchek mobile but that wasn't available here in France when I got my last meter)
Normally, its OK in my rucksuck , kept in the same way as the pen but I have had a couple of occasions when I've tried to test and got a temperature error either outside whilst skiing or when I test just before lunch in a restaurant. The meter seems to warm up quite quickly inside so that's no problem . If I feel low nowadays, I'll just take some dextrose without testing rather than faff about with the meter outside.

LizG

Type of diabetes
Parent