Splitting Levemir

CLP

Hi

I have a question re splitting levemir. I take levemir and novorapid and am on small doses. I only take 6 units of Levemir each day. I take this at 10pm and its starts running out around 5pm (ish) and my BG starts to rise. This is making getting decent BG results in the evening very difficult. Even if 2 hours after tea my BG is ok it goes up as i've no background insulin to keep me level. I'm increasing my Novorapid and have taken extra about 2 hours after tea / or done some exercise to try and control this but its very hit and miss. I'm starting to get frustrated with it :x

I asked my DN about spltting the dose but she is very against this as she says I'm taking too small a dose and she's not sure how this would work. She seemed to think that going to bed at 8 or thereabouts was ok. Her definition of ok is NOT mine!

Has anyone sucessfully split such a small dose of basal insulin?

Claire

totsy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
liars, animal cruelty
hya,
i always thought levemir was twice daily but i take lantus but cant really help with this,im sure one of the more experienced levemir takers will be along soon and answer your question :)

jopar

Levimer is designed as a once a day isnulin, but it lends itself to splitting better than lantus which can also can be split...

But going back to split or not?

There is another option here rather than splitting, if you levimer is running short what about changing the time of it... Take it ealier so that the tail ends falls into a part of the day ?

I can see what your nurse see's about splitting as you'll looking at a 50/50 split 3u/3u or a 60/40 split 4u/2u but with thinking about it, it's still possible to do this and if it's something that you need to do then you need to do... If it's a case of that the small amount of insulin and sinsivity to insulin is casuing control issues, then prehaps a insulin pump might be worth a consideration...