Strange and sudden hypo caused by basal insulin?

Flakey Bake

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi. I am still quite new to being a type 1. I am coping pretty well with the insulin regime and for the most part have thing reasonably well balanced with only a few mild hypos. Then last night I had a real fright. My BG was 7.8 at bedtime and I took my usual basal insulin dose (lantus) and after about 10 mins I suffered a very fast BG drop, so fast that I did not feel the usual tremors of hypo onset. I went straight from feeling fine to struggling to stay conscious (BG of 2.1). It took over an hour of feel pretty bad and repeatedly dosing with an awful lot of dextrose sweeties to get my BG to near sensible levels. The only thing I can think of to explain what happened is did some/all the basal insulin go into a blood vessel and get released too quickly? Today my BG are high, do I have any basal insulin left? Has this happened to anyone else? Advice would be appreciated.

phoenix

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
That doesn't sound good.
A few things to think about
When was your last meal; rapid insulin can still have an effect some hours later?
Alcohol?
When was your last exercise? when this happens to me it is usually because I had some late afternoon/early evening exercise and didn't take this into account sufficiently with my insulin at dinner
Lastly and this is a bit nebulous, sometimes in the early days the pancreas still has some function and can be a bit sporadic about when it decides to 'help' you out with a bit of insulin.
I don't think that I have ever thought that I might have done an intramuscular rather than subcutaneous injection but if you are very thin this could be a possibility. (think a vein is unlikely with a tiny pen needle)
The high may be just from over correcting (it's hard to take the dextrose and wait after treating when you feel like that) but your liver may also have thrown in some glucose as well.