strange hypos

emac

Hello,

I was just diagnosed with type one diabetes yesterday. A bit weird at 28. Anway I have been recieving treatment for diabetes for a couple of months and been on lantus and metformin.

However I have been getting hypos even though my BS is within a normal range like 6 or 7. I have been having this problem for a couple of months and it is getting to the point where it is happening 2 to 3 times a day and getting quite hard to manage.

Does anyone have any ideas and does this happen to anyone else?

Euan

totsy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
liars, animal cruelty
hya
welcome, when u say u are getting hypos,what is your blood sugar at the time?? or do u just feel hypo ?? when first diagnosed it is usual to feel hypo until you get your blood sugars on an even keel,this is because your body is used to u being high so makes u feel hypo,
hope this helps,
keep asking the questions :D

Stuboy

Dislikes
Crowds. Being high. Being Hypo.
A rapid drop in blood sugar can also send alarm signals in the body. The the blood sugar falls rapidly the body panics and thinks it's going hypo...

Are your hypo's happening at certain times of the day? ie, after meal times? (up to 3hours after).

As totsy suggested as well... if you are newly diagnosed it can take a while for your body to become acustomed to lower sugar levels from being high for so long pre diagnoses.

fergus

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi emac, and welcome to the forum.
Stuboy and totsy are quite right in that, although hypoglcemia is generally agreed to begin at around 3.8mmol/l, the physical symptoms can appear at much higher numbers. You could say that 3.8 is an absolute level, but your symptoms are relative to the higher blood sugar levels you will have been experiencing prior to diagnosis. Feeling hypo at 5's 6's and 7's is not uncommon at first, but your body will quickly readjust as your blood sugars become more normal.