Sweet confusion!

Cambiel

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Apologies if these questions have been asked previously. I do not see them on a quick run through the forum.

I am very new to low carb and seeking information about the best way to satisfy sweet cravings. I am happy to make my own treats but need some guidance on which sweetener to use. Could someone please tell me:

1. What is erythritol and what brand names does it go by?

2. Is it the same as Sorbitol, or is Sorbitol as good a low carb substitute?

or

3. Is it the same as Stevia, or is Stevia as good a low carb substitute?

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

ewelina

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Stevia is a plant and it looks like a green powder. Personally I do not like it as it leaves funny aftertaste.
My favourite sugar replacement is xylitol or erythritol. Taste similar to sugar and works really good in most cakes (apart from meringue). Xylitol you will find in most health stores and many supermarkets (Ive seen it in waitrose and Sainsbury). Erythritol you will need to buy online (amazon is a good place).
Sorbitol is a sugar alcohol but I have never used it for baking so cant advice

Robbity

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I use liquid stevia in very small quantities as it's both extremely sweet and as Ewelina says it can leave a funny/unpleasant after taste. I also use erythritol for baking and general sweetening. Both are recommended and safe for diabetic use, and don't raise glucose levels at alll. I get both these from Amazon, and erythritol in the form of Sukrin Gold from Sukrin's online shop. Avidlite is another possible source for Sukrin products.

Xylitol I've never used because although it's often another good sugar replacement, it's very toxic to dogs even in very small amounts.