Sweeteners and Their Role in Raising Blood Sugar Levels ?

HoneyPot2

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Michael Mosley in his prog "Trust Me, I'm a Doctor" on the basis of an admittedly very limited test claimed that there was evidence that the use of artificial sweeteners (specifically saccharin) contained in low sugar processed foods contributed to the rise in diabetes in recent years by interfering with the way that the body managed sugar. In effect that inert sweeteners which make great play of having no calories and are therefore widely taken as a sugar substitute, in my case in coffee for more than 20 years, retards the process by which the body regulates sugar. Since I have only in the last three months been diagnosed as having T2D, I am now concerned that I may have inadvertently contributed to this outcome by taking on average 6-8 Hermesetas (which is saccharin based) tablets per day spread across an average of 3 to 4 mugs of coffee per day.

In two groups of six, one taking saccharin (at the maximum recommended daily dose for one week) and one taking Stevia, the blood sugar levels of the first group rose overall and in the case of four of those six so markedly that their blood sugar levels would have qualified them as being pre-diabetic! In the case of those taking Stevia there was no significant change their blood sugar levels across the group as a whole. One explanatory theory is that the sweeteners may change (reduced) the gut bacteria population which appeared to be the case with those individuals most affected by the saccharin.Having said that the last comment made in the programme was that the use of saccharin could not be said to have negative consequences for all the population but may well have this effect on very significant sections of those taking artificial sweeteners