T1 diabetes in the family?

Rosieice

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Newly diagnosed at age 26 with T1. Around 3 months now. Wanted to know if there is a history of diabetes running in your family? No one that i know has diabetes, doctors are surpised, and want to do more tests on me. Is it that uncommon getting diagnosed over 25 years? This is my first time posting here, have been reading for a while and wow this forum has answered alot of questions that no doctor can answer! Thank you :)

Reactions: 12 people

himtoo

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
mean people , gardening , dishonest people , and war.
why can't everyone get on........
Hi There Rosieice
welcome to the forum:)
I was diagnosed in 1972 and there was no history in the family ( I was 14 )

next was a cousin on my dad's side aged 21 ( type 1) in 1981
my dad's brother aged 43 type 2 in 1990
my dad ( type 2 ) in 1998 aged 63
my dad's older brother in 2008 aged 76

how are you coping Rosie ? make sure to keep posting on here as there are lots of great people to assist with any question you might have.
take care and be well

all the best

L3wisr

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm 23 and got diagnosed 1 year and two months ago, as far as I'm aware I'm first ever person In my family with type 1.
I guess both of us are just super lucky.

Reactions: 4 people

lizdeluz

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Another one in the super lucky club: I'm 61 now, and was diagnosed T1 at the age of 29. There was no hint of it in my family or extended family. Hi Rosieice and welcome to the forum. :)

jamesfitz

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I am the only one in my family with type 1 diabetes - no history , was diagnosed aged 24 :(

RuthW

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi There Rosieice
welcome to the forum:)
I was diagnosed in 1972 and there was no history in the family ( I was 14 )