Test monitor accuracy?

TerryinDorset

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Shock horror. I've been using a Accu-Chek Active monitor for 2 months & for the past 7 days got fasting values of 5.0 - 6.0 mmol. 2 hrs after lunch today I got 6.2. Two mins later I tried the AgaMatrix 'Jazz' that my diabetic nurse gave me recently & got 7.2mmol.
I'm confused now about which machine to use. After a few tests, it seems the AgaMatrix is giving numbers 1 higher than the Accu-Chek. I'd be interested in views about this anomaly. Which is the more accurate monitor?
By the way: I did a AgaMatrix Control Solution test which gave 7.2. I rang their customer care & was told this number means the Jazz is accurate.

ally1

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
liver
I have 2 different monitors and they vary by 3

TorqPenderloin

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Every meter has a margin of error. I would personally consider a meter than is accurate to within 15% to be accurate and one within 10% to be extremely accurate.

Control solutions will help to calibrate a meter, but there will still be a margin of error. The only thing the control solution assists with is whether or not your meter reads high or low.

6.2 and 7.2 reads could mean your meters are accurate to within 7.5% or they may be off much more than that.

A few examples assuming your actual blood sugar was 6.0
Accurate to within 10%: 5.4-6.6 mmol/L range
15%: 5.1-6.9 mmol/L range
20%: 4.8-7.2 mmol/L range

Plus, you also have to factor in the fact that different samples of blood may yield different results even with a meter than is 100% accurate.

If I ever have an unusual reading, I'll test 3 times at once and average the three results together.

TerryinDorset

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello. I did retest with both & the Agamatrix gave bigger differences than the Accu-Chek. I had a look on line for accuracy listings.