testing

juliegeorge13

Hi,
I'm new to this and mad as hell,diagnosed before Christmas (type 2) and told to control by diet, given a hanfull of leaflets and sent on my way with a we will be in touch. I was phoned by a practise doctor two weeks ago and asked to go in for a blood test. I then had to meet with this doctor for the results. She told me the test was awfull at 11.8 and I was obviously eating sugary things. I do not have a sweet tooth at all, do not eat chocolate, cakes biscuits fizzy drink or fruit juice, I know im odd but I dont like them. Show me a piece of cheese though and I will have your arm off. I asked if I could start testing my bloods myself so I could see what affected my levels for myself so I could have some real control, I was told certainly not and put on metformin. Is this normal treatment cos if it is I am going to war! I am going to buy my own gear and to hell with the doctor (she isnt even my doctor) I will have some control whether she likes it or not. Please feel free to advise.
Moan over, Jools :x

Aadrgon

Hi Jools and welcome

THe first thing you need to do is join a decent forum with knowledgable people in it so you've got that right already :)

The next stage is to forget the diet the Doctor has told you about as it probably contains alot of starchy high carb food. Read up on low carb diets - cut out things like bread. pasta, rice, potatoes ( or at least cut them right down.

You also need to test your blood glucose before a meal, one hour after and two hours after until you find what works for you and what doesn't. You NEED a meter to do this. Doctors don't like us testing for various reasons, one being the test strips are expensive. If the Doctor will not prescribe or give you a meter buy one - but try and get the strips on prescription. There are guidelines for Doctors about testing which they tend to ignore.

If you come up with any questions - ask - someone in here will be only to glad to help :)

MaggieAnne