Thai boxing?

martyclark

Hi people,
I have been diabetic around 3 months so im just beginning to relise alot of things, Basically i would like to take up Thai boxing i relise this would lower my blood suger levels and seek an answer on how i can keep levels gd.

Also see when my levels are around 9 or 10 i feel amazing is this starnge ?

didie

Dislikes
People who think they are always right and ram their opinions down your throat. No-one knows everything. Those who shout loudest are usually the ones who actually know the least.
Hi Marty

Welcome to the forum.

Exercising is great for lowering sugar levels, but you need to be careful not to increase your heart rate too much as your sugar levels will rise rather than decrease.

This is a great link that explains about it.

http://www.runsweet.com/HeartRate.html

Sid Bonkers

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Customer helplines that use recorded menus that promise to put me through to the right person but never do - and being ill. Oh, and did I mention customer helplines :)
Marty the training for any martial arts is very strenuous, personally I would get your diabetes under control before starting any strenuous exercise, once you get more used to the way your body is going to perform now you will be able to manage your blood glucose levels and make allowances for strenuous exercise, but its probably best to walk before you run.

It is advised never to exercise if your levels are higher than 12 or 14 mmol/L sorry I dont remember the exact number but I'm sure someone will correct me if I am wrong.

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Marty,