Type 1 and still rockin'

Joel Fabric

Hi,

I'm Joel, I'm 23 and have been type 1 diabetic for about 8 months. After finally coming to terms with the change in diet, the daily injections and the fact I can't leave the house without my insulin pen with me, I've managed to make diabetes part of my daily routine.

For anyone who thinks that finding out they're diabetic is the end of the world - it's not! Yeah, I have to watch what I eat, but I now eat a hell of a lot healthier than I used to. And it doesn't stop me doing a thing. I'm a guitarist in a band, and that involves a lot of travelling, a lot of very late nights and a lot of carrying stuff around. I thought having diabetes might mean having to give this up, but there's no reason you can't be diabetic and be an aspiring rock star! If you treat it as much a part of your routine as brushing your teeth, there's no reason being diabetic should stop you doing anything!

Joel

oh, and if you're interested, you can hear my band here: http://www.mountfabric.com

Aadrgon

Hi Joel and welcome

Glad to hear it's not put a stop to your aspirations to be a rock star and that your coping with it so well
Rock on and keep us informed of your progress :)

(will check out the website later - this PC has no sound )

cugila

Master
Dislikes
People who are touchy.......feign indignation at the slightest thing. Hypocrites, bullies and cowards.
As an old fa** with an eclectic taste in music I listened and it's very good. Loved the vocals. stick with it guys !!
Ken

Aadrgon

cugila said:
As an old fa** with an eclectic taste in music I listened and it's very good. Loved the vocals. stick with it guys !!
Ken

I remember in my youth my parents disliked my music - preferring things like Val Doonican and Tom Jones I wonder how todays youth view old fa**s like us who appreciate their music ?
Do they think "oh no geriatrics like it it must be ****" or what ?
like you I'm ecletic in my taste I often nick my son's CD's to play in the car :)