Type 1 problems??? Help please

viks3457

Type of diabetes
Type 1
HI everyone,
I am really new to this, and this is my first post on a forum about diabetes.
My husband was diagnosed on the 17th december 2009, with type diabetes, at 32 year old!#
He has been taking novorapid 4 times a day and lantus once a day and has still been getting quite high readings (between 10-16), but over the last 3 days, he has had to be eating loads more food, as his blood sugars are plummetting. No change in activity, or eating habits etc, but tonight his blood sugar dropped to 2.2 just one hour after having tea, (half a plate of boiled potataoes, with carrots and Chicken, and gravy) and a cup of coffee with one sugar in (this is not normal, but he felt his sugars going low so had one)!!
Could this possibly be his "honeymoon period"?? I spoke with our nurse earlier today who told us to reduce his novorapid at meals, but to keep his lantus the same as his morning readings are still 10+ every morning!!
Is this a "normal" occurence in newly diagnosed Type 1 diabetics??
Sorry for seeming a little naive, but I suppose in this situation that is exactly what I am!
Thanks in anticipation.

gbtyke

Yes in the early days this is usual. He needs to check his blood before each meal and if the reading is high then inject a little more insulin, if it is low then inject a little less. Also he really needs to know how many carbs he is eating at each meal and adjust the insulin also to suit that. Very confusing at first but lots of information on the forum just spend time browsing.

Also have a look at this.

http://www.bdec-e-learning.com/

SophiaW

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump