Typical!

Faith*

Dislikes
Arrogant/unhelpful people. Spiders/bugs basically anything with 6-8 legs. Creeps me out.
Hate mud unless I'm camping oddly
Bit of background first:

I’m on an insulin pump, have been for 4 years, I handle it reasonably well, I carb count and have improved considerably from when I was on MDI injections.

The last 12 months having read numerous books including the amazing Gary Scheiner ‘Think Like A Pancreas’; followed with advice from people on here and also by reducing my carbohydrate intake, and exercising almost 5 times a week I’ve improved things even more.
I’ve managed to get my HBA1c down from 7.4% to 6.7% in 6 months, I’ve gone from 8st 2lb to 7st 5lb in 18 months (just in time for my wedding next month-yey) and I do genuinely feel healthy.

I’m really proud of myself and love the low carb diet, I literally went from about 300 carbs a day to about 124, sometimes only 100. My control is the best it’s ever been, don’t get me wrong I’m still learning and have just self funded a CGM to go with my pump so that I can fine tune and iron out the kinks once a month – just to make sure basals are correct really.

So anyway I went to clinic for my 3-4 month review today. I usually see my DSN which is fine, she’s a nice lady, she knows my history, knows I’m more than capable, knows I’ve borrowed the hospital sensor about 4 times, but whilst she was giving me all my blood results I couldn’t help but laugh in my head at what she was coming out with – she’s meant to be the font of all knowledge for diabetes and instead I get the following statements:

“So how long can you leave the sensor in for?” – Your a diabetes nurse that has previously given me a sensor – stupid question

“what blood tests do you normally get?” – you ordered them, you tell me

In response to why do I keep going hypo late afternoon – “ooh I don’t know, it is tricky isn’t it”