1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2018 »
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Uni life and Diabetes/ stress management

Discussion in 'Young People/Adults' started by Tomm95, Jan 12, 2019.

1. Tomm95

Tomm95 · Newbie

Hey there,

I’ve been Type 1 Diabetic for 5 years now after being diagnosed at 16. I was just wondering if there are any uni students here who also struggle to manage their diabetes whilst studying?

I’m currently in my 3rd year of a Chemistry degree. In my first 2 years at uni I had great control of my blood glucose levels (Hba1c of 5-6 mmol) which allowed me to push myself hard academically and achieve my goals..

I found that this year however, my workload and stress just dominated my life, and I let my Diabetes management slip. I don’t have the energy that I used to and it means that I can’t study as efficiently as I used to. As I tried to revise for exams over the Christmas holidays i was lacking concentration because of my constantly high blood sugar levels. This made me more stressed and I struggled to eat anything, which then started to give me lots of hypos.

Amongst all this I still have 4 exams to prepare for. A few days ago I cracked after having 4 hypos in a day and I ended up in A&E. With exams this coming week I’m in a bit of a bad state. I have left uni following advice from my personal tutor because my physical and mental state were deteriorating rapidly.