What blood Sugar level is considered to high to drive a FLT

Rsspeedy_

Type of diabetes
Type 2
I recently had a random medical at work and have been restricted from driving my forklift as he said my blood sugar level was too high I have been driving for 2 1/2 years at this job without a day of sick and none of the related symptoms. I have been searching for what is the lvl range for driving and DVLA does not state any sugar lvls is 8.3 low enough to resume driving my FLT?

copepod

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I can't imagine that DVLA will say anything about driving fork lift trucks, as they don't routinely go on public roads. What treatment do you have to reduce your blood glucose levels? Diet / exercise / weight reduction (if needed) / medication (if needed)?

Rsspeedy_

Type of diabetes
Type 2
I am on Metformin but have been back to Doctor who gave me note saying I am fit for normal duties and said that he now knows why doctors are over run with people being referred to them when still safe to drive

james11

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dvla are mainly concerned with low blood levels rather than high..as far as i know there isnt a level for highs...hgv driver on insulin...ask your company what they are basing thier decision on

Reactions: gvintagedrken

LittleGreyCat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Diet drinks - the artificial sweeteners taste vile.
Having to forswear foods I have loved all my life.
Trying to find low carb meals when eating out.
Ask for more details about the policy being used to restrict you.

It may be a knee jerk "Diabetic blood sugar levels. Diabetes means hypos. No driving."

You need to confirm (I assume HR will help) that there is a valid policy and that it is being applied correctly.

novorapidboi26

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I wouldn't say there is an official level when considering a high as everyone is different....