what do you pack for your child snack box etc

heart01

Hi my daughter 4 1/2 was diagnosed with T1 6 weeks ago and is starting big school....I am still learning about her illness and would like some advice from other parents about what you pack for them in there snack boxes......Do you have a seperate box for snacks and Hypos........how much medication needles etc do you send in to school.......My daughter is to inject at school during lunchtime and test her blood sugars but she can not seem to differentiate betwee a Hypo and Hyper.......and wants food when her sugars are really high!!!

leggott

Hi, 2 of my children have type 1 and my son started school last year about the same age as your daughter. I sent them both in with some fruit which they had mid morning (about 2 hours after they had breakfast). They would also eat a jelly baby or glucose tablet before taking part in PE.
My children both have different requirements and it took a few weeks of school to get things under control and understand how play time , PE etc affected their BG.
As far as blood testing is concerned it is advisable to discuss this with the school and draw up some sort of plan. It may be that for the first few weeks you go into the school and do a few extra blood tests and then when she has settled in you reduce the number. It really depends on her routine and how stable her levels are. My son often goes to the office thinking his sugar is low when in fact it is on the high side, but on talking with my husband (who is also type 1) he says that the feelings can be quite similar, so it's a good thing that she can pick up on both and a blood test will tell them whether she is hypo or not. Leggott

Matt1212