What food to pack for a 3 day hike?

uart

Type of diabetes
Type 1.5
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm thinking of doing a three day hiking trip some time in spring (probably Sept) and it will involve carrying everything with us except for water (well carrying some water of course, but there will be places to refill along the track).

I've never done a trek like this before, and I always envisaged taking lots of dehydrated stuff like noodles etc if I ever did one. But now with my low carb diet (which is working really well for me BTW) I'm kind of uncertain what I'm going to pack for food.

I know I'll need a small light weight tent and sleeping bag, and a few warm cloths because it's in the mountains, so obviously I don't want too much extra weight for food if I can avoid it.

Can anyone think of some good suggestions for items of food I could pack. :)

BTW. This is the walk.
- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Six_Foot_Track
- http://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/blue-mountains-national-park/six-foot-walking-track/walking/map

uart

Type of diabetes
Type 1.5
Treatment type
Insulin
Man I hate it when you make a typo in the title of a thread and can't edit it. :banghead:

I meant to say a "3 day hike". Yes we really do speak English here in Australia. :p

EDIT: Many thanks to the moderator who fixed it for me. :)

Last edited by a moderator:

DeejayR

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Wow that sounds fab. Is Sept spring for you? But still pretty chilly up there. Assuming you have a stove, are there dried soups that won't hurt your BS? Tea & coffee. Nuts & seeds, cheese, cold preserved meat like salami & pepperoni, pickled eggs, pickled onions, olives and I dare suggest dried fruit eaten on the hoof to work off the sugar. I make almond flour cheese "bread" that will last for three days (no preservatives) and is quite filling but you need a drink with it sometimes.