What is the effect of 'milking' your finger?

sec123

I'm new to testing and find I have to squeeze around the area of the blood taken to get it to form a drop however I've read thats not good. Would it lower or higher your blood glucose reading and why?

Mike d

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
idiots who will not learn
As long as your hands / fingers are clean, it makes no difference at all

sno0opy

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Generally no, if i didn't squeeze i would have to make pretty big hole in myself it make ti flow freely! However your best to have warm hands so if im cold i wash in hot water first - this helps it flow more freely.

The guidance generally is that if your having to squeeze excessively then you could be pulling other fluids out of cells which can distort the figure, but some squeezing is ok

Reactions: EllieM

UK T1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, yes I've always been told it can change the reading but not always in the same direction. By squeezing directly neare where your lancet went in it forces the blood out but not uniformly. So it is hard to predict whether the result will be higher or lower than the real value.

I usually try to make sure my hands are warm and then shake my hand in a downwards motion a bit to make sure blood is properly circulating. I've also always been advised to squeeze as far away from the finger tip as possible - so from the palm down the finger. If I've been exercising though I can't stop the blood fast enough even on the lowest lancet setting so trying to get the circulation pumping a bit more definitely helps!

Reactions: Buzzer81

JohnEGreen

Master
Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Tripe and Onions