What is your definition of what is a good level?

Dusty911

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi All, I have been plodding away at the low carb diet now for several months and have seen a drop in average levels and also a good dampening of the dawn phenomena that was causing me such issues. Thank you so much to all on here who have enabled me to take this positive action with my diabetes. I do however have one thing that concerns me. I am fairly often seeing people posting morning fasting levels and post prandial levels that I understood to be good but they are referencing as bad. So for instance an reading above six as fasting ( sometimes even lower) and subsequent 2 hour readings above 6.5 as being bad. I know the NICE guidelines but understand that others may wish to be stricter. My question is however, is aiming to be back under the six within two hours realistic or am I shooting at the moon if I try to do this with only Metformin and diet?
Again this forum has been a godsend,thank you all. I am awaiting results of my latest Hba1C and am hoping for much improvement. My understanding was that average meter readings under 7mmol would indicate a return to non diabetic levels. Is this wrong?

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Firstly well done for bringing your levels down.